What are the pros and cons of using private transport in big cities

In modern society, private vehicles are more and more widely used, in particular big cities like Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh city. It cannot be denied that travelling by individuals’ vehicles can be beneficial to some extent, however, there are a few drawbacks of this means of transport. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of private vehicles in big urban areas. On the one hand, commuting by private transport can bring travellers several advantages. A considerable advantage that people can gain is the convenience. Obviously, when people have their own vehicles, it is more convenient for them on the grounds that private-transport-using commuters can control their travel time and move on their own instead of depending on public transports. Another benefit from private transport is the flexibility. Using private transport, people could travel with their own route while public transports have a fixed route. They can change their destination or their route when it is necessary, which is not possible when traveling by public transport. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages when travelling by private vehicles, especially in crowded and densely-poplulated areas like Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. Since there is a large number of residents in these areas, travelling by private transport can cause negative effect on the environment. Particularly, in rush hours, when a large number of transport travel on the road, the level of exhaustion emitted from these vehicles would be significantly high, hence worsening the environmental pollution. In conclusion, using private transport has its own pros and cons. Therefore, people should commute using private vehicles with certain frequency.