What are the pros and cons of using CCTV cameras

Nowadays, there has been an increase in the use of CCTV in public places as a measure to reduce crime. While some people believe that there are a lot of positives of using video cameras, others think that the negatives should be taken into consideration. In this essay, I will discuss both views of them. On the one hand, CCTV can be beneficial for both inhabitants and countries. The first objection is that video surveillance can help to protect us and deter criminals as cameras have been installed in many public areas. In this way, petty crimes like pocketing and stealing are considerably prevented since criminals conceive that they are being watched by authorities and police offers. Moreover, public cameras are significantly supportive tools for police officers to detect suspects and catch criminals. By this way, they can keep cities safer for residents, visitors and workers alike, which will attract more travelers to visit the countries and contribute to developing tourism industry. On the other hand, many people might disapprove of public cameras because of some reasons. Firstly, it is said that this surveillance violates our privacy due to the widely use of public security cameras. In other words, people feel like frustrated as their movements are recorded anytime, which obviously restricts their individual freedom and encroach their personal space as well. Secondly, it has been shown that investment in a numerous number of security cameras for controlling crime is extremely expensive, which will be wasteful if they are not effective enough to stop crime completely. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of CCTV that the government should consider before using them to combat crime