Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than work for a company. What are some of the disadvantages for being self employed

It is true that people don’t like to work under a higher authority. They would rather take control over a business and start taking risks. The common 9 to 5 desk job has created a sense of mental instability and physical constraints for people. Necessity is the mother of invention. Recently, the world faced the wrath of the novel CoronaVirus due to which many people lost their jobs. In order to survive in this fast paced world, unemployed people found a way out from this situation by starting a small business. This business was started through different social media platforms such as instagram, facebook whatsapp etc. People loved the idea of being independent without the pressure of facing a higher authority. It is rightly said that things owned by others always look good. But when we come close to reality, we realise that nothing is easy. People who have been self-employed are still growing their businesses on social media platforms. Audience of these platforms think that the owner is available 24/7. This can mentally disturb the owner’s mind as the urge of being present everytime is not practically possible. Other than that, one can easily feel the pressure of not having enough manpower initially due to lack of funds. I have been a small business owner myself since 2020. Honestly, it has been quite liberating to be financially independent. But to stay connected with the customers, promote the brand, work extra hours and not set boundary has been some disadvantages of being self employed. In conclusion, I believe that this big bad world, nothing’s served on a gold plate. We have to work extra hard to achieve our goals. For people who chose to become self-employed in a huge step in their lives as it is just a beginning. There are many surprises awaiting for them in every step of their lives.