What Are The Pros And Cons Of Public Transportation?

In the recent decades there has been a huge surge in the use of private vehicles for commuting like cars and bikes. This has resulted in a steep decline in the use of public transport like buses and trains. In this essay, we will explore the advantages and disadvantages of using public transport. Let us first have a look at the positive aspect of using the public transport. Firstly, a lot of traffic and congestion can be avoided if people opt for buses and trains instead of using a private vehicle. This will in turn result in less air pollution and improve the environment. In addition to this, tickets for public transport are far cheaper as compared to the cost of fuel involved in the using your own vehicle. Again a lot of time is wasted in finding parking slots for your private vehicle. However, use of public transport can be inconvenient to commuters taking into consideration the poor frequency of buses and trains leading to overcrowding and non-availability of seats in these vehicles. Often commuters have to stand all the way till their destination stop. Furthermore, it stops at each assigned stations leading to a long route for the passengers. Private vehicle owners on the other hand can quickly drive to the destination directly. Privacy is also one of the major reasons why people prefer private vehicles. To sum up, there are both pros and cons in the use of public transport. In my opinion, carpool services would be a better alternative as it overcomes the limitations of both the modes of transport to a certain extent by making the utmost use of the cars. Nowadays many cab services have the option of share cabs wherein 3 to 4 passengers from nearby locality travel and pay on a sharing basis.