What are the pros and cons of GM food

GM food, which is known as genetically modified, is in leaps and bounds. Some people advocate gene-altered, while others respond with strong skepticism. Each view has its validity, this essay will discuss both. On the one hand, as scientists can opt for the most ideal traits to include in GMO crops, there are bountiful advantages of modified food. To begin with, mutated crops provide more nutrients than traditional ones. For instance, a modified form of African corn contains 2 times vitamin B, 6 times vitamin C when compared to a non-modified one. Additionally, gene-manipulated products usually have a lower price, farmers produce the same amount using less land, water, and pesticides. By having fewer insecticides, the proportion of health risks and environmental damage is decreased. On the other hand, notwithstanding, experts are still in fear of its drawbacks. In the first place, scientists claimed that consumption of these genetically engineered foods can cause the advancement of diseases that are immune to antibiotics. Furthermore, researchers from the US Food and Drug Administration are well aware of the “genetic instability” issue prior to establishing their no-testing policy. They warned that this problem is likely to create hazardous toxins in food, which is a significant health risk. Another extent to consider is that some people are not in favor of the idea of transferring animal genes into plants and vice versa, as GMOs are proven to have a higher percentage of instigating allergic reactions. To sum up, GM food is by far requires tons of researches to ascertain whether it can hurt humans or not. From my viewpoint, though possible risks still exist, whether it is safe or not is reckoned on each person’s health condition.