Many people around the world are poor. Why is this happening? Can you suggest any ways to tackle this situation?

It is true that many people across the globe are experiencing extreme poverty, and I think the only reason and answer for this unfortunate situation is governments in those areas. I believe the main reason for poverty is linked to unfair governments where powerful leaders exploit natural resources, such as gold, oil, cotton and others for their own advantage. Instead, they are supposed to export these precious commodities and give back to their society by investing in education, healthcare, housing, and retirement plans. A clear example is Nigeria, a country that ranks first in storing oil, but its citizens are exposed to a high level of poverty. Also, such corrupted governments throttle little but innovative businesses and allow monopolies to enjoy bank loans. As a result, they set their own prices with the aim of generating as much income as possible, instead of selling their goods and services at reasonable prices to enhance ordinary people’s lives. They also enjoy tax loopholes which is why rich get richer and poor get poorer. Although this situation can be solved, it takes great deal of courage from the citizens of such corrupted governments. One way is for them to engage in protests where they should bravely ask their leaders to step down and replace with responsible and caring ones who will hopefully export the “nation’s” natural resources. However, as opposed to the previous corrupted authorities, they invest the income generated from export in education, which is the key to solving poverty of all kind. By this way, everyone, regardless of their financial status, will have the chance of accessing high-quality education, thus, get a good job which will improve the financial aspect of their lives. Moreover, such caring leaders will also fund young and innovative businesses rather than monopolies, as a result of which people will be offered goods and services at cheaper prices. It seems clear that poverty around the world cannot be eradicated unless the corrupted leaders step down. If this happens, we will not see a single person sleeping on the street and begging for money to buy food.