What are the problem of increasing city size? What is the solution?

In many parts of the world, cities are expanding consistently. This alarming rise has yielded a number of issues will be discussed along with a suggested solution. The influx of migrants from rural to urban has produced squatters or shanty towns in metropolises which are afflicted by pollution and scarcity of resources. Perhaps one of the main problems is pollution. Air pollution has reached a significant rate from the increased use of fossil fuels by various means of the transport system and that has caused serious respiratory health diseases for city dwellers. For example, a recent study of Cairo university demonstrated that urban citizens suffer from asthma or other lung diseases than their rural counterparts. Moreover, the overuse of utilities has caused a shortage of water and electricity resources and infrastructure can not cope with the rate of population. As a consequence, overpopulation in a small area would not only cause endemic pollution-related diseases, but resources will also run out. For an effective remedy for the ever-increase city, expansion can be done through rehousing scheme. Governments should encourage businessmen to carry out a project for cities with facilities and that will decrease the load on the primary cities. New Cairo, for instance, is a new city located on the outskirts of Cairo, has allocated many of the city dwellers and they even created new job opportunities. Therefore, if authorities encouraged horizontal expansion, the quality of living will be enhanced. In conclusion, urban growth can cause significant problems such as pollution and depletion of resources. It is suggested that the government should enhance and encourage people to live in more remote areas in an attempt to decrease the load on the main cities.