What are the positive effects of a transport system

Transportation is a system that helps move people, animals and goods from one place to the other. It could be via road, water, rail and air. The effectiveness and efficiency of a transport mechanism cannot be over emphasized as it has both positive and negative impacts on the economy of any nation. This essay will delve into the positive effects of a robust transportation network. Firstly, a good transport network could determine the ease of doing business in a particular location. Investors all over the world consider how easy it will be for businesses to thrive in an environment before investing in any country. One of the indices for measuring the ease of doing business is the available transport network. Business owners want to have reasonable assurance regarding the possibility of free flowing movement of its employees as well as goods and services, around the cities and across locations either via road, rail, water and air. In addition to the above, a reliable transport network helps to reduce the start up cost of a company. The availability of rail lines and good road networks, translate into the company channeling the available working capital into other things as the need to acquire staff buses will not arise. The multiplier effect of this is that the employee cost of hiring a driver, fuel expense and maintenance overhead will be eliminated. Thus, these savings will be channelled into other acquring other assets. Consequently, the company will make more profits and this will result in more tax for the government. Thirdly, the robustness of the transportation network involve putting alternative means of movement in place to avoid dependence on a single system. This implies that road, rail, water and air transport will be made available and affordable for the movement of people, services and goods. As a result, the stress of spending more time travelling on busy routes and frequency of sick leaves arising from the traffic menace will be reduced to the minimum. Also the wastage of man hours due to road congestion will be largely removed. In conclusion, a trustworthy transport network do not only help improve the lives of individuals and corporations but in general, translates into increased foreign direct investment for the country. It also helps to provide more funds for the government in the form of revenues and taxation.