What are the opportunities and risks of using the Internet for academic research? (350-500 words)

Scientific researches require a lot of information as also the knowledge about achievements of people from over the world. In past it was almost impossible, there are many examples where once acquired knowledge gone away. For instance, library in Alexandria had been known for the tremendous amount of manuscripts. It was unfortunately burned. Currently we could only assume how much we lost as a humanity and in which domains we are still behind our predecessors. The internet seems like a great solution for that woes. However it also bringing on risks. The internet is allowing scientist to share their knowledge, recent innovations as also concerns about new or existing ideas. We could only imagine how many modern devices have been created through usage of internet. For example, one of the famous Russian mathematicians after proving his theory, published it online. It was discovered straight after publication by other mathematicians. They checked it and as it was correct, Russian mathematician was rewarded by mathematic community. Another benefit is that in the past academics had to visit libraries around the globe as many books were available only at one place. Nowadays there is no need for this as enormous quantity of old books were photocopied and are available online. “Archive. Org” is one of such websites. It was very helpful for me during writing my bachelor dissertation. I was able to exploit the work of people from Australia and United States. In spite of all these benefits mentioned before, there exist many drawbacks. Obviously, most of information available online is not certified so we can easily be cheated. It requires a high level of attentiveness and common sense. Although if scientists verify information on couple sources and discuss them with other academics it will prevent them from making mistakes. In conclusion, as we can see the opportunities of the Internet bring our world at another level of development, what used to be long and protracted, now become instant. We can look into the future with excitement and hope for better. Disadvantages of internet for scientific researches do not seem scary. Introduction of quite well working certification process and a small dose of caution ought to be enough to safe scrutiny.