*In many places, shopping is seen as a form of enjoyment rather than a thing of need? * *Why is this happening? * *Is this a positive or negative development? *

In the recent times, the number of people who shop for fun, rather than for necessities is on the rise. This could be due to the increased advertisements, this action is definitely not a positive advancement. To begin with, on of the reasons this is so is because, the number of advertisements has increased tremendously. As a result, more and more citizens are bought over, wanting to own these products in their homes. Therefore, the fulfillment of this quest makes people see purchasing as fun, these days. For instance, my friend, who is a banker, goes shopping every other day, just to buy what she saw the on the advert the previous day. She takes pictures while buying them and upload the photos on her social platforms. This gives her so much joy. Nevertheless, despite the satisfaction experienced while shopping, this habit could detrimental. This is because many people are salary earners, and when they keep buying good spontaneously, they inadvertently incur debts on themselves. Some are indebted to financial institutions, who charge them heavy interest rate, for purchasing products they do not really need. To illustrate, having gotten two deep freezers at home, I recently got a loan from the bank to buy another. This is just to satisfy of urge of always going to the LG showroom in my area. Unfortunately, servicing these loans eats people up, a they might not be able to meet some important needs. To conclude, the cause of the joy people display while shopping might be linked to the increased ads seen these days. How be it, this is a negative development, because of the high rate of indebtedness been observed.