What are the most common problems that students might have and how to solve them?

In today’s modern life, every individual is pulling his weight in view of keeping in track with the astounding development of the world. That situation is also appropriate when being applied to students’ schoolwork. One of the most universal obstacles in tuition today is rote-learning, especially in Vietnam’s education. While the teachers belong to the previous generations, they stick to old-fashioned teaching methods. The way of teaching is all about recitation, when students have to sit in silence following the lecturers’ presenting the lessons, and afterwards they take it in turns to recite the task. The students are regularly expected to study and memorise all the assignments. At the end of the seminar, they will be sitting for a written test or oral examination, which is commonly called a rote-learning process. A glance at how students prepare for an Literature test can illustrate this issue. Students are demanded to learn by heart almost every single word written in the textbooks, the references and literary criticism when studying a literary work. Many said that they did not even absorb the authors’ metaphors and messages given in the work, nevertheless, those students passed the examinations with flying colors. To sum up, this way of learning is worsening the learners’ memorisation and acknowledgement, which leads them to be able to attain high academic results without having an in-depth insight into what they have been instructed. Another major hindrance while gaining knowledge that many undergraduates have generally faced up to is lack of connection with realities. As previously stated, many tutors are remaining conventional teaching methods, which are filled with plenty of sophisticated theories and philosophies. Consequently, although students perfectly excel in all of these mathematical structures or physics models, most of them lack the ability to apply their learning to real life situations. This critical problem is distributed to the institutions' lack of vocational courses and real-life activities. Students are up to their ears in deadlines and cram schools so that they do not have enough time for experiences and soft skills that are beneficial for their life. Due to this lack of institutional support, students are discouraged to be conscious and interested in transferring their learning to more challenging and higher order thinking contexts in realistics. If this ironic issue can not be addressed soon, the young generations will become more and more inactive and sluggish. In an effort to solve these significant problems, it is advised to have some adjustment in the education systems. Professors have to consider putting more vocational courses and experience activities into their curriculums to help students be provided with more opportunities to develop themselves and equipped with the skills the employers demand. Students also need to be instructed in more learning methods such as active learning, spaced repetition and the Cornell note taking system, etc. In reality, of course, this is a vast oversimplification of the issue and the importance of a right education system should not be discounted. Notwithstanding, I contemplate that we can work out to find out the best ways.