What are the main causes of obesity and its damaging effects?

In contemporary times, obesity is a worldwide health threat. There is mounting evidence to demonstrate that being overweight has deprived people across the globe a sense of well-being and a dynamic life. The purpose of this essay is to analyze the main causes of excessive weight gain and its devastating effects. It is apparent that obesity can be caused by a number of factors. First and foremost, it is scientifically believed that unbalanced diets act as a catalyst for being obese. The progressive prevalence of vending machines and food advertisments have made a significant number of children and students succumb to the temptation to look for a quick fix for their hunger by seeking comfort food. As a consequence, more nutritious choices and home-cooked meals are gradually supplanted by junk food, which contains little or even no nutritional value. Furthermore, excessive weight gain can be directly attributable to sedentary lifestyles. It is generally accepted that modern complex lives have robbed human the opportunity to become more physically active, which increases the likelihood of becoming overweight and subsequently rises the incidence of critical cobesity-associated diseases. Besides, in industrialized countries – namely the US, the UK and Australia, remarkable progress made in technology, with computers, video games and online communication being increasingly pervasive, could be considered as a major precursor to physical inactivity as well as obesity. It is evident that obesity can cause a myriad of disastrous effects. Most importantly, there is emerging evidence to demonstrate that excessive weight gain can exert an enormous threat to public’s physical ill health. Being obese is widely believed to be the main culprit of debilitating and even life-threatening diseases. Indeed, people who consume high-fat, high-calorie, high-refined sugar food are more likely to be badly hit by obesity-associated conditions, such as cardiovascular disease, including heart failure and stroke, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high blood sugar, asthma, sleap apnea, anorexia nervosa, Type 2 diabetes, lack of stamina and other bone and joint problems. In addition to physical health-related consequences, obesity can also be the main culprit of psychologically poor well-being. Large-scale psychological effects can include low self-esteem and depression that make it diffucult for obesity-stricken people to form social relationships such as family bonds and close friendships. In conclusion, there is a causal link between obesity and unbalanced diets and physical inactivity. Being overweight is widely considered as the main driver behind severe physical issues and psychological health-related problems.