What are the effects of online shopping on society or local communities?

Nowadays, with the rapid change of lifestyle, online shopping is no longer a fresh word to people. It has effects on society and local communities, both the pros and cons. The explanation of both views will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Several merits constitute the success of online shopping. Firstly, the complex situation of the Covid-19 epidemic has had a significant impact on many people's shopping habits. Thus, online shopping is considered the most effective solution. For example, having a delivery man come to our house when shopping over the Internet will help us ensure social distance and avoid the risk of disease. Secondly, online shopping is convenient, people can easily access stores throughout the world as well as purchase goods with a mere swipe or click of fingers. For instance, to place an order, all you have to do is select the product and confirm the order through smartphones. As a result, we do not waste time on traffic. Finally, the diversity of products present on the websites has been intriguing the customers. Thousands of versions and designs of a commodity can be seen and even compared within no time. Let us consider a situation, when a consumer visits a shop in person he or she can only go through a very less number of products. On the other hand, there are a variety of demerits of shopping via the Internet. Firstly, online shopping is the most popular platform that cybercrimes use. This means that some people, especially children and the older, are usually deceived since sellers can fake their profiles on the internet. To exemplify, many students opt to buy a laptop via Facebook. Hence, they lose their money and do not get their goods back. Secondly, online shopping can be addictive, you might spend more money and time buying stuff that is not necessary. Moreover, items might be different from what you see in online shops. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of online shopping significantly outweigh the drawbacks. Therefore, individuals should carefully utilize these technologies in terms of security and privacy.