What are the advantages and disadvantages of self-study?

In this flourish era, society is more emulous the ever before. To be lucrative, one must be extra so as to be different from other identical individuals. One of the most essential factors that form a person is his study methods. In this day and age, a number of people have applied self-learning one. From my viewpoint, I think this avenue has both positive and negative sides. First, it is undeniable that self-study is beneficial for students in the long run. In most nations today, pupils are educated with teaching models at schools from primary school to college. Each level may has characteristic approaches, but students generally learn passively. Self-study is beneficial in the long term as we can absorb knowledge actively and focus on fields that we are weak at to improve. Furthermore, searching and exploring information ourselves will help us commit it longer. On the other hand, self-learning also has some limitations. Pupils may not be able to approach to special cases of things they learn, what can only be transmitted by experienced teachers. Learning on their own does not give students the sense of competition, which fosters them to strive harder. As a result, they can easily dampen every now and again. In summary, we should have multidimensional views of everything. Self-study will be advantageous provided that students learn passionately and properly to exploit all its helpful aspects.