Some people think it is more important to provide parks and sports facilities than to provide shopping centers in these new town for people to spend their free time.

Nowadays, an increasing number of new towns have been constructed because of the development of urbanization. Citizens expect to live in functional communities. Some people consider it necessary to build parks and sports facilities rather than shopping centers as public space. But I disagree with this statement. Common parks and sports facilities help people to live a more satisfying life. One benefit of building parks and sport facilities is that provide local people with places to take exercise there. In modern society, many health problems such as diabetes and cardiovascular disease are caused by people’s sedentary lifestyle. Running or playing badminton in the park which has a lot of trees and beautiful flowers would definitely enhance physical health for individuals. Apart from being as outdoor sports fields, the parks are also perfect places to communicating with friends or families, which can build a close friendship or strong family relationship. For example, man and woman could lying on grass and listening to each other, which is a really relaxing way to strengthen a relationship. At the same time, visiting shopping centers is indispensable for modern life. People all over the world like to spend leisure time in shopping malls. These days, it seems that plazas have become the multifunctional sites besides buying something needed regularly. Shopping centers offering stores, sit-down restaurants, cinemas, amusement parks and more. For example, lovers could watch a romantic movie first and then have a candlelight dinner during the weekends, which is of value to their relationship. To sum up, public parks, sports facilities and shopping centers are all equally important public spaces. Designers should consider all of them when governments plan to build a new town