What are the advantages and disadvantages of physical education in high schools?

Physical education has long been a compulsory subject in the school curriculum. In our rapid paced life nowadays On the one hand, sports engagement is indeed beneficial. First and foremost, involvement in outdoor activities enables students to build healthy lifestyles. Since high school attendants apply themselves fully to studying to achieve further education, taking up regular physical practices are effective ways to combat stress after a long hard-working day. As a consequence, this will alleviate the risks of serious medical issues like diabetes and obesity by keeping them active frequently. Another positive side is that participation in sports games can offer soft skills building opportunities for students. In other words, students can obtain life lessons from a PE class such as teamwork, cooperation and sportsmanship. For instance, a handful of high schools in Hanoi have attached great importance to PE classes so their students are given the chance to set goals, build self-confidence and socialize with their peers, which expands their circles of relationship as well as enhance their communicative skills. Hence, they will find it easier to adapt to a professional work environment in the future. Turning to the other side of the argument, notwithstanding the huge upsides of sports teaching, the downside of this course cannot be ignored. Everything that is implemented in education comes with a cost. The cost of holding P. E. classes come with the expenses that need to be paid by the parents of each student. The cost and maintenance of equipment, the cost of the teacher, plus the upkeep of a huge gym, should be the money that’s better spent on hiring the best academic instructors and other technologies.