Sometimes people wish to be more confident—for example, they may want to express their opinions more frequently in meetings at work, or they want to contribute more to class discussions at school. Which one do you think would best help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations?

As the saying goes, “one man’s meat is another’s poison. ” That is, everyone has different perspectives. People often possess different viewpoints on the best way to help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations. As for me, I strongly argue that spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work is better. First of all, confidence comes from practice, and spending more time preparing for discussions or meetings gives people more opportunities to practice. (1) For example, when I was a college student, I often had class presentations. (2) At that time, I would have five rehearsals before the actual discussion so as to conquer my fear. Besides, I would even anticipate some urgent difficulties in advance so that I would not be so nervous when I really encountered such barriers. (3) As a result, I became more confident since I did a lot of practice. Secondly, money is a major factor in deciding the best way to enhance confidence, but learning about techniques would definitely cost a lot. (4) Take my friend, Amy, as an example. She attended a presentation class three years ago in order to learn methods to become more confident. (5) The class cost her over 1, 000 US dollars, which was a huge burden for her. (1) On the other hand, if she just chose to spend more time preparing the discussion, (2) it would not cost her even a cent. (3) Apparently, spending more time preparing is the best because people all emphasize money. Last but not least, everyone has different characteristics, so the advice from a more experienced person may not apply to every single person. (4) For instance, because I often felt nervous and anxious when I had a speech, I found some experienced people for help. (5) They just told me to relax and have a good sleep before the speech. What’s more, they told me not to think about the presentations. However, it turned out that the method was not useful, and I became more stressed on the stage. (6) Therefore, getting advice from a more experienced person is not a practical way to increase confidence. In conclusion, I fully agree that spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work is the best way to increase confidence. After all, people care about money, have different personalities, and need more practice to build up confidence.