What are the advantages and disadvantages of mass- manufacturing?

Mass manufacturing is the continuous production of standardized products. In this essay, we will evaluate the advantages as well as disadvantages of mass manufacturing. This will help to gain a holistic view of this manufacturing model. Mass manufacturing has several advantages. First, mass manufacturing is the most efficient form of production. This comes at the cost of flexibility, but is a price worth paying for its significant cost reductions. Second, depending on the type of goods being produced, fewer employees are needed, the firm has fewer overhead costs. That means it can produce at a lower unit cost and therefore provide it to the mass population at a lower price and lower cost. Third, with mass production, everything is standardized – from the product to the machines. Everything is repeated over and over again in the exact same way with great precision. Last, perhaps one of the biggest advantages to a manufacturer is the fast production rate of mass production without any need for human intervention. Apart from numerous advantages, mass manufacturing also presents certain disadvantages. First, starting a mass production business requires huge start-up costs such as that for the factory, land, and machinery – which makes it difficult to compete. Second, many industries that adopt mass production mainly use machines. However, there are industries that require the use of high levels of labor. For example, the iPhone requires hundreds of workers to assemble it together. As each worker has a very specific task, they are assigned to repeat it over and over again - it can lead to de-motivated employees in the long-term. Last, consumer demand can change over time and when the market changes, firms that engage in mass production will find it expensive and time consuming to change. In conclusion, with any functioning systems, there are always pros and cons that can be identified, expanded upon, and scrutinised. With time, who knows what the future holds for mass production systems, but it looks bright!