What are the advantages and disadvantages of GM Food

GM food, which is known as genetically modified, is in leaps and bounds. Some people advocate gene-altered, while others respond with strong skepticism. Each view has its validity, this essay will discuss both. On the one hand, as scientists can opt for the most ideal traits to include in GMO crops, there are bountiful advantages of modified food. To begin with, mutated crops have more nutrients than traditional ones. For instance, a modified form of African corn contains 2 times vitamin B, 6 times vitamin C when compared to a non-modified one. Additionally, gene-altered products are usually cheaper, farmers produce the same amount using less land, water, and pesticides. By having fewer pesticides, the proportion of health risks and damage to the environment is decreased. On the other hand, experts still worry it may pose a threat to human health. In the first place, scientists claimed that consumption of these genetically engineered foods can cause the development of diseases that are immune to antibiotics. Furthermore, some people are not in favor of the idea of transferring animal genes into plants and vice versa. They perceive it may impact human DNA and instigate an allergic reaction. To sum up, GM food is both advantageous and disadvantageous. From my viewpoint, though possible risks still exist, whether it is safe or not is reckoned on each person’s health condition.