Describe that the government should spend on roads or railways? Explain whether you agree or disagree?

The government should spend the capital on railways rather than roads. In my opinion, I agree with this statement because the railway can accommodate a large population. However, roads infrastructure mostly benefits the elite society. Government should concentrate on the railways more as they have developed a lot in the past few years. With technological advancement, it is becoming one of the swift modes of commuting. As they are economical and every class of individual can reserve their coaches. For example, according to the survey of the ministry of transport 60% of the population prefer railways over roads. On the other hand, my disagreement with spending on the roads as most of the people is dependent on public transport. Roads maintenance is higher and its sustainability is low. The climate majorly affects the road infrastructure and spending the money on them is not turning to be fruitful. According to an article by the renowned newspaper "The Washington Post" said thatsustainability of roads turned out to be 5 years whereas railways stood out at 10 years. I would like to conclude by saying that government spending money on railways will definitely turn out to be a more reliable decision as compared to the roads infrastructure.