What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching TV? eegpx

The television has become a crucial part of our everyday life. Watching TV is considered as a way to relax after a busy day. This relaxation can be harmful if viewed in an uncontrolled manner. Kids are one of the biggest viewers of TV. In this essay, let us discuss the merits and demerits of watching TV for kids. Let us first look into the beneficial aspect of the TV. There are a lot of informative shows available on TV for kids in channels like National Geographic, Discovery and Animal Planet etc. There are shows which nurture the creative side of a kid by means of arts and crafts shows. Quiz shows in TV helps in improving IQ in kids and develop general knowledge. TV has been nicknamed as ‘The Idiot Box’ and the main reason for this could be because of people binge watching shows and spending long hours before the television set causing the eyes to strain and the mind to be in a less active state while state while watching TV. Many children nowadays are so addicted to TV that they are not interested in indulging in any physical exercise thus becoming lazy. Kids may also come across contents that are not suitable for their age group and this can have a negative impact on their mind and behavior. To conclude with, there are numerous benefits to watching TV for kids, however its disadvantages may outweigh its advantages if not taken care of. In my opinion, parents need to keep a strict control over the contents of the shows watched by their kin and also on the screen time spend daily.