What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Every organizational pyramid has employees at various levels. An employee at a particular position (or level) will have a solid line superior (or boss), to whom he or she reports. A supervisor or a boss is like a leader and is expected to lead from the front and show his or subordinates the right pathway. A good boss should be skillful at prioritizing and responsibility allocation among his subordinates. He or she should have a thorough understanding of his or her subordinate’s strengths and weaknesses. Accordingly the supervisor must ensure Job distribution and performance evaluation. Another quality, which is must, is to have a good foresight and vision. The leader in any organization at any level should be a highly qualified person who has an in depth understanding of the functioning of the business. Accordingly, he or she must set short time goals with an objective of ensuring timely completion of long term goals. A good boss must be an effective communicator and should explain the goals and other requirements to employees in a straightforward and decorous manner. He should carry out one on one informal interaction with his subordinates and should promote a culture in which employees don’t feel subdued in raising their view points and concerns. There should be a democratic environment in the meetings and discussions. To conclude, a good boss should hold high standards and should lead as an example. He or she should be good at strategic thinking, decision making, job distribution and planning.