What are four (4) skills staff members should possess in order to survive and thrive in the workplace post-Covid?

During 2019, a highly contagious virus namely Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) has spread across the world and has dramatically affected people’s life. Background Information (broader picture of the issue): The virus is still on-going and it has changed our lifestyle. In order to curb the virus, people have started to implement the policy of working from home and wearing mask, which is different from the past. Thesis statement: Hence, people need to adapt to the new changes and get used to the new working lifestyle. The four skills staff members should possess in order to survive and thrive in the workplace post-COVID is to learn and adapt the digital skill and work from home. Due to this pandemic, people need to work from home to reduce the risk of getting infected by virus. Hence every people should have mastered a degree of technological skill to ensure work can done at home without problem. A good digital skill will help people to maintain a good relationship with their organization’s stakeholders which are clients, partners, suppliers, and public authorities without real life contact. It also will give people a clear knowledge of technology, data concepts, and processes including data visualization, applied machine learning, and advance analytics. For example, engineers can collect data from internet to analyze and control the machine virtually to ensure the production run smoothly. Second is to have a strong social and emotional skill during this pandemic. Due to this pandemic, people require to work from home and this might cause an emotional problem to them. People require interaction with each other to stay connected and since working from home, the face-to-face interaction will be reduced. Having a strong emotional skill can help people to stay focus on work because people can get distracted easily when working from home. For instance, distractions from family members or pets while you are working. Hence having strong emotional skill can enhance one’s working performance as compared with those people with weak emotional skill. People should strengthen their social skill to maintain strong professional ties and create with grow client relationships, drive change, and support employees remotely, leaders will need advanced communication and interpersonal skills, including empathy. For example, a retail bank client advisor should learn virtual skill to cultivate social and emotional skills to develop for the relationships he used to nurture in person. Thirdly is having a good critical thinking during this pandemic. Due to this pandemic, people are getting hard to contact peoples and consult opinion or solution in the workforce. A good critical thinking also can help people to build self-awareness, self-confidence, and self-reliance to increase their performance during this pandemic. It can increase their ability to solve problem with lesser time and strengthen their own mental wellness. For example, an engineer should have a good critical thinking during this pandemic so it can solve the production problem virtually without going to the physical site. Critical thinking also can help people to diagnose problem more effectively and increase one’s productivity. For instance, factory manager should manage their employees to work in shift to avoid the spread of getting infected by virus. Malaysia government had limited the number of employees in factory during this pandemic and it cause employees need work in shift so having critical thinking is important to ensure the production run without any problem. Lastly is having flexibility and adaptability during this pandemic. People should learn to be more flexible and adaptable due to the working environment is changing. Due to pandemic is still on going and is expected to be there for years, people should learn the ability to work from home to avoid virus infection. For example, a teacher should master the computer skills to create lecture videos to the students, which helps to curb the spread of virus. People also should be flexible and adapt to learn the IT skills during this pandemic. For example, many businesses now have ventured into online platforms such as Shopee and Lazada during this pandemic. Hence the business owner needs to be tech-savvy and ensure their employee to learn the IT skill as well. Therefore, people should always be open minded with flexibility and adaptability to learn new skill so they can strive during this pandemic. In conclusion, COVID-19 pandemic is still on-going and will take many years for people to recover from this virus. Prediction or issue in broader context: Therefore, people are encouraged to learn new skills and adapt to the new working lifestyle and to strive from the pandemic.