What a nun can teach a scientist about ecology

Biodiversity is declining worldwide at an unprecedented rate; therefore, conservation programs are needed more than ever before. Part of the valuable knowledge needed to protect species is detained by local populations who cohabit with them. One striking example is how nuns contribute to the preservation of one peculiar species: the achoque. Achoques are neotenic salamander species solely living in lake Patzcuaro in the North of Mexico. They are known for their regenerative abilities; however, they are critically endangered due to overfishing and pollution in the lake. For centuries, nuns have made a medicine against respiratory issues (coughs, asthma, bronchitis, …) using achoques. In order to keep producing the remedy, they have sustained a healthy achoque population. Scientists have collaborated with the nuns, bringing funds and scientific method to their practical knowledge and wisdom (e. g. raising strong and healthy achoques). This results in the creation of one of the most successful captive breeding programs for a critically endangered species. Scientists, usually viewed as the ones who know best, have often showed hubris leading to the exclusion of local people’s perspective on conversation programs. This have contributed to the failure of some of them. Henceforth, the International Panel on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) established a cultural concept framework which purpose is to take into account local people’s knowledge.