Humble plants that hide surprising secrets

Biodiversity is declining worldwide through the sheer pressure of urbanization, pollution and climate change. This undermines a wide array of ecosystem services which are notably provided by rare plants species. For instance, in the Mascarene islands (which correspond to Mauritius, Reunion, Rodrigues and Madagascar in the Indian Ocean), unique and scarce plants with biomedical properties are growing. For example, the leaves of benjoin, Baume de l’Ile Plate (both endemic to Mauritius) or baobab are used against infectious diseases. Moreover, baobab may guarantee food security in the future thanks to its nutrient rich fruits and its trunk full of water. It’s worth noting that its size is a great advantage for pharmaceutical and food industries. Another example is the resurrection plant which super high tolerance to drought allows for the production of an elixir of youth (i. e. counterbalancing the aging process due to the loss of water in the epidermis). To conclude, these species are vulnerable, and are worth studying and protecting because of the services they grant to humans.