We no longer need to have animals kept in zoos, so zoos should be closed.

It is widely seen today that the government is diverting a lot of funds towards development and maintenance of zoos. Although some feel that captivating animals in a zoo are not an ideal notion, others argue that they can best be looked after in a zoo. There is no denying to the fact that animals lose their freedom when they are kept in zoos. Also, they are exposed to the artificial way of living and are deprived of their natural habitat. To exemplify, they are fed only at a particular time by their trainers and cannot fetch for food when they are hungry. Moreover, they are mostly disturbed by the advent of numerous spectators who visit the zoo almost every day. Nevertheless, animals are safe when kept in a zoo. These beasts can be saved from the effect of extinction. For instance, the Bengal tigers are increasing in numbers every passing year which otherwise was on the verge of extinction on account of hunting and ill health. The forest department is playing pivotal roles for their care and protection. Also, the rapid industrialisation has led to the destruction of forests depriving these creatures of their natural homes. Therefore huge efforts are being made for the creation of a natural environment which best suits these creatures hence not disturbing their natural life. Furthermore, there is a continuous check on their health and hygiene which eventually gifts them a long life. In conclusion, I would prefer animals being kept in a zoo on account of their safety and increased life expectancy.