We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer-based technology.

The world is moving towards more technology oriented future. A number of jobs that were manual ten years back are now fully automated. From flying an airplane in an auto-pilot mode to contactless shopping, computer-based technology has changed the way we live. It would be difficult to imagine a life without computers as almost all of the jobs are dependant on computers. I personally feel that while this change in technology has a number of advantages but there are few serious concerns associated as well. One of the biggest advantage is that computers save a lot of time in doing a job. In case of shopping, a number of vendors have introduced contactless shopping where in you can just pay the amount by scanning a QR code. This is very helpful in pandemic times where every one is trying to avoid contact. Tracking of data is also helpful in most of the cases, from buying an insurance online to getting remainders when the policy is about to expire. The data tracking have major advantages in health care industry. A patient and doctor can now see the historic health data which makes it very easy to track the health records. Almost all of the major banks have online banking where in a customer can use online banking to update a record etc, this again saves a major time. There are more jobs in computer industry, so this change in technology has also changed increased the jobs. Since the personal data is also stored online or in the cloud, the biggest risk and disadvantage of increasing dependency on technology is data theft. There are many cases where the personal data of customer was hacked. Even though many companies have now started giving importance to data security standards and making sure that the data is safe, but still the risk of personal theft is still there. Data sharing is also something that is a major concern. A number of websites collect personal data and use it for analytics by sharing with some other vendor which can be violation to the customer. In conclusion, I believe we will be probably more dependent on computers in near future and our lives will improve as technology improves. While there are few concerns around around data security but there are many positive sides and advantages that we can focus on.