We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)?

Having good co-workers makes our professional life meaningful while bad colleagues can make our life miserable. Since people spend a considerable amount of their time in their workplaces, characteristics of their co-workers greatly affect the level of job satisfaction. Friendly behaviour, team spirit, helpfulness and professionalism are some important qualities that make someone a great colleague. To begin with, friendly behaviours of an employee would make things easier for other workers. When someone joins a company, the first thing he looks for among his colleagues is the friendly behaviours. Second, team spirit is another important aspect the make worker's life easier in a company. Without it, some employees would suffer greatly to produce the expected output. This is why companies these days look for this trait among the employees. Third, helpfulness of an employee makes the life of other employees lot easier. A helpful colleague would share his knowledge, help finish a project and amiable to others. For instance, during my three years professional life, I have always liked the people who have raised their helping hands whenever needed. My experience taught me that those are good people to rely on. Finally, the professionalism is a quality that drives people to work closely to attain a common goal. Thus those sorts of people would value others opinion, criticism and feedback. They would also advise junior employees and would guide them in difficult times. Alfred Stuart, a former colleague of mine, had a great professionalism and that is why he was reliable, a great team lead and a person to seek advice. All things considered, good qualities like friendliness, helpful mentality, professional attitude and team spirit among co-workers make our working environment healthy and enhances our job satisfaction.