Watching TV is bad for children.

The television is a remarkable technological advancement which has become a part of our daily lives. Children, as well as, adults watch TV for various reasons. It has various effects on children especially as a result of their young minds which can easily be influenced by what they see. Watching television has its pros and cons but I believe its advantages outweigh its disadvantages for reasons which I am going to mention below. Firstly, TV has become a very important educational tool for children. For example, educational programmes such as Sesame Street, Barney and friends etc. program have been an integral part of my childhood and helped me in numerous ways to improve my English vocabulary, understanding of some simple arithmetic and a lot of other things of educational importance. Secondly, the television helps children to know more about the world around them. For instance, certain programmes are aired about geography, history, animals and a lot of other important things. This helps the child to know about the differences between continents, the weather variations across countries and other important worldly affairs. It was through television that I first knew about time differences across the globe and its correlation with latitude. In addition, TV helps to improve bonding within the family. This happens when the whole family sit in the living room to enjoy a nice family programme such as family movies or current affairs programme such as ‘Who wants to be a millionaire’. In conclusion, the television remains an important tool in a person’s childhood. Nonetheless, parents have to ensure children watch the right programmes and do no spend an awful lot of time watching TV at the detriment of other important things the child needs to do.