Waste disposal presents increasing problems, especially in urban areas. Which are the causes and solutions for the issue

In today’s rapidly developing society, the issue of waste disposal especially in urban areas has aroused public concern. It is crucial to analyze the causes of this disturbing issue and explore effective solutions. The causes of waste management are mainly due to environmental issues. In term of substantial level, the following causes seem to deserve more consideration. Firstly, in some countries, areas for landfills have started to run out and landfill operations have considerably caused great damage to our environment. As population is increasing; therefore, more and more volume of wastes is generated while lack of space. Secondly, more and more industrial zones are built and especially in urban areas, but they have not concentrated waste management processes. Industrial productions are now a growing problem of many nations. Because the leaching of contaminants out of the soil into groundwater causes damaging effects to many aquatic plants and animals, and worse it even contaminates human drinking water. Regarding the reasons, people put forward various suggestions. The most obvious approach is that how to deal with these causes to minimize the grade of pollution and other effects. Firstly, with advancement in science and technology, considering the use technologies that handles wastes in environment- friendly manner is necessary and cost- efficient. For instance, Biosphere technology uses gasification process that can destroy solid wastes and turn it into green energy. Through technologies like this, we can even lessen the dependence on fossil fuels and totally eliminate the use of landfills. Secondly, the local authorities should control generating wastes from industrial productions. By taking actions and having concrete laws and regulations, not only authorities but also people can prevent further damages to environment caused by waste problems. In conclusion, it is inevitable that waste management problems will continue to happen. However, through using advancement in science and technology and close control from authorities, the effects of waste disposal can be resolved.