Some people are of the opinion that prisons are basically universities of crime, fostering the kind of behaviour they aim to eradicate, and are, therefore, not effective. Others feel that prison life is not hard enough. Discuss the arguments on both sides of the issue. What is your own opinion on that matter?

In recent times, it has been noticed that the crime rate has abruptly increased in every country, which has sparked heated debates about whether is it vital to lock criminals in prison for long time to stop crime. Some people believe that prisons are the best place for keeping criminals, whereas, others contradict this idea and insist that there are more efficient ways to reform them. On one hand, it is argued that serious offenders who have been convicted of heinous crimes undoubtedly possess the ability to harm the society so they must be confined within a jail. The criminal intentions and motivations they have cannot be detected or discouraged using peaceful means. That means there is always a possibility that they will reoffend and wreak havoc in the society if they are allowed to move out of the prison. Even if they are prevented from committing crime outside prison, they can influence young and needy minds to follow their footsteps and thus augment the crime rate. Thus, no fruitful results can be generated in the process. On the other hand, people believe that juvenile offenders and other criminals who have been jailed for comparatively minor offences must be allowed a second chance to redesign their lives. They must be granted an opportunity to correct them and be absorbed into the society. Firstly, arrangements should be made so that juvenile offenders receive vocational training and moral education which will teach them to distinguish noble from evil, and become law-abiding citizens. Secondly, adults must be involved in vocational trainings and skill development sessions that will enable them to find a means of livelihood and stay immune to criminal tendencies. Seen in this light, it is undeniable that those with the desire to transform themselves must be allowed a chance to get involved in reformatory works. After having discussed the most pertinent points of the issue, I, personally believe that it is not realistic to make and follow general rules for all criminals. Before determining whether a criminal should be sent to prison or not, it is important to consider the gravity of a crime committed by them. While a criminal with a dangerous record is a threat to a peace and must be in prison, the others who have committed relatively milder crimes can be given an opportunity for reforming themselves.