Want To Fight Climate Change?

According to Pew Research, most people around the world agree that climate change is a major threat. But what can individuals do to help fight the problem? The key to having an impact is reducing your carbon footprint, or the total amount of greenhouse gas emissions that you're responsible for. Here are some tips for making your carbon footprint as small as possible: Transport Traveling without using a car is a great way to reduce your carbon footprint. Walking and cycling are the most carbon-efficient alternatives, and they're also good for your health. Another option is public transport, with trains being cleaner than busses. Flying also adds a lot to your carbon footprint, so it pays to check if you can get to your destination by train or boat as these options are usually the most efficient ways to travel long distances. Energy Making sure the energy you buy comes from green sources can also have a big impact. In some countries it's possible to switch to a power company that lets you buy electricity generated from renewable sources. Diet Changing to a plant-based diet will also help reduce your carbon footprint. If you can't give up meat completely, eating a lot less of it will still make a big difference. In that case, what meat you choose to eat is important — for example, beef has the largest carbon footprint, while fish has the smallest.