Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer people are walking there days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Many people believe that global warming, vehicular pollution, and numerous other environmental issues demand action at a worldwide scale since one country’s pollution impacts others. Others think that these issues should be tackled by every country independently as pollution is a local issue. I believe for ecological issues, both global and national level contribution, is required. Some people hold a view that environmental problems have to be tackled on a global scale. Issues such as global warming, air pollution and marine pollution affect all the countries around the world and need a joint effort to deal with. I believe that a reduction in greenhouse gas emission should be agreed in international conferences. Also, tackling such problems can be a financial burden on developing countries. Hence, developed countries should contribute more to financing solutions. On the other hand, some people believe that the government of each country should be responsible for tackling their domestic pollution issues. The government should educate people about conserving energy and recycling resources. Residents need to take responsibility for their actions. For instance, river pollution can be reduced by local people if they improve waste disposal. The government can provide better public transport which can help to reduce private vehicles on the road, which ultimately help in bringing down air pollution. The government has the authority to create strict laws to control different types of infections. Therefore, I think, domestic problems should be handled nationally. In conclusion, the opinions of people differ whether environmental problems should be solved on a global scale or national scale, I believe that both levels of solutions significantly depend on the nature of the problem and needs for the answers.