Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Despite having many health benefits, fewer people prefer walking nowadays. This essay will discuss that the fast-paced lifestyle is the primary reason of this problem, and the most viable solution is to make people aware of the different methods by which they can incorporate walking in their daily life. Nowadays, people want to achieve more in less time, which has made walking less favorite. Even if someone has to travel a few hundred meters, he or she will do it by some vehicle to save time. What is more, other vigorous exercises, such as weightlifting, running, can give the same results in less amount of time, so people prefer them rather than taking a walk. For example, Health and Fitness magazine surveyed its audience about their workout preferences and found that walking was the least favorite because they felt that it takes more time to burn calories as compared to other physical activities. To tackle this problem the government should educate its people about various ways in which they can benefit from walking without spending any extra minute. A publicity campaign can be launched in the media and in schools that explains how a person can take a walk while doing other tasks, such as listening to music or talking on the phone, and how covering short distances by walking is not only good for health but the environment also. Moreover, the advantages of walking over other strenuous exercises should also be discussed as it is much safer and provides complete body workout. For example, Chandigarh is hosting brisk-walking competitions every year for the past three years, which is a fun way to learn about the merits of walking, and the participants have agreed that they have started taking walks more regularly after participating in this event. In conclusion, walking is a healthy activity, but the popular belief that it is time-consuming is the main reason why people are avoiding it, and government can motivate people to include it in their everyday lives by organizing awareness campaigns.