Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement.

I disagree with the statement that government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. Every year, thousands of people die in road accidents. The number of people dying due to existing railway conditions are few. Road accidents are caused due to many reasons like, drivers not following traffic rules, over-speeding, etc. But the main reason, and the most avoidable reason is potholes. Potholes cause 80% of all road accidents in India. Most of the roads in India have potholes. Civilians are so frustrated with the number potholes that, a man from Bangalore dressed up in a spacesuit and pretended to be walking moon as the road was filled with potholes, resembling craters on the surface of the moon. Besides potholes, there are have been many cases where the road collapsed due to weak structure and heavy rains. In India, the roads are made to last just one rainfall in monsoons. In a country prone to malaria and dengue, potholes also pose a lot of health issues along with poor safety on the road. Along with health issues, potholes also cause traffic. A study established a direct link between sitting in traffic for long hours and increased stress. We also need to invest more in roads than railways to provide better connectivity to remote villages. Well built roads that last decades are much more economical than building railway lines to remote villages. This will remove the headache of operating and maintaining costs of railway stations. Connectivity through roads will provide people living in far off places a better life and expose them to many new opportunities and improve their existing living conditions. In conclusion, government should spend more money on roads than railways. Because roads reduce the number of accidents and improve connectivity to remote villages. They also, significantly improve the quality of life as well.