Wage Differences between celebs and experts

Nowadays, due to the expansion of media, not only actors but also athletes have become prominent and lucrative figures. Sometimes the income of these people, who are popularly known as celebrities, is so high that they even become the subject of the same media. However, there are some people who believe that the huge salaries for these celebs are not fair compare to the low salaries that the other experts like engineers, doctors, lawyers and etc. receive. On the contrary, there are some people who think that these incomes are completely fair and right. In this essay, we want to discuss both perspectives to reach a comprehensive and acceptable conclusion. The first group believes that the salaries of actors and athletes are something beyond their efficiency and ability and is completely unfair compared to other professionals. They are of the idea that the importance and role of the work of the other specialists in society is considered insignificant in terms of wages received, while the absence or shortage of such skilled labor may affect not only the cultural conditions of society but also the economic situation. For them, the fact that one person receives a high salary just for entertainment and another person who works for the betterment of a society and the advancement of its goals and receives a small salary is unacceptable. On the other hand, the opponents of this view are of the conviction that these salaries are completely justifiable and there is a logical reason behind it. According to them, what makes these super stars’ salaries different from other professionals is their undeniable impact on the income of the profession or work they do. For example, people are willing to pay a lot to watch an actor's movie or a prominent athlete's competition, while this never happens to a teacher, an engineer or a doctor. In addition, the effect that a celebrity usually has on public opinion is never shared by a doctor or an engineer or a teacher. Celebrities, given the impact they have on people, can lead them to use or choose a particular product or goal, something that may never be seen in other professionals. In short, they undoubtedly believe that people like celebrities are irreplaceable compared to other skilled people. In my opinion, given the reasons mentioned, we can say that both groups are somewhat right. It is unfair that public figures sometimes receive higher salaries, even with less knowledge than a professional. On the other hand, there is no denying that these superstars not only have a great impact on the prosperity and income of an industry, but also on the lifestyle and way of thinking of a large group of people, especially young people, while perhaps never an expert like a programmer, a doctor, an engineer or a teacher cannot have such a direct impact on public opinion. I think that in order to reduce these differences and, to some extent, balance the situation, in addition to increase the salary, the related authorities can allocate more points to these experts and also monitor the salaries and the way of earning celebrities.