ln mony counlries, moinly foursfs, bul noi locol people, visil rnuseurns ond hrsforicol sifes. Why does lhis hoppen, ond whal con be done fo ollroct more locol people to visil lhese ploces

Museums and other historical sites seem to be less attractive to local people than to tourists. This essay intends to delve into some reasons why this is occurring, and put forward some solutions to kindle the interest of local people in visiting these places. The first reason is due to the fact that the local people take these places for granted. They think that these places are not running away anywhere, and so they will see them sooner or later. What happens is, that the time seldom comes, when they take the time out of their hectic schedule to see these places. On the other hand, tourists who come there are on a holiday, and their main motive is visiting these historic places and museums. For instance, recently, I visited Hyderabad as a tourist and went to see Ramoji Film City, which is the biggest Film City in the whole world, spread over 5000 acres of land. My relatives who are staying in Hyderabad have never been there once. When ltold them that it is a must-see place, they decided to visit it with their children. Secondly, nothing new is added to these places over the years and so local people who have been there once, do not wish to frequent these places again and again. These places do not intrigue the locals so they do not feel nlotivated to visit regularly. ln other words, the renewals of existing exhibits, or the organization of new programs and events are few and far between. Furthermore, museums and historical sites are not cheap to visit. ln fact, to get admission to these places, visitors are often required to buy expensive tickets. ln order to spur up more interest of local people in coming to museums, a number of ways can be employed. School trips could be organized for children to enjoy these places with their friends. Passes for entry to these museums and historical sites could be arranged for local people so that it doesn't cut a hole in their pocket every time they visit them. A day could be fixed every month when the entry to the museum is made free. For example, on every first Tuesday of the month, the entry to the Houston Museum of Natural Science is free, so there is a great rush of local people on that day To conclude, many reasons can be given as to why local people lose their enthusiasm for museums and places of historical importance. However, the revival of these places is within our grasp should proper actions be taken.