Violence in the media promotes violence in society.

Nations worldwide are dealing with the increasing issue of obesity which is a cause for concern among all age groups. One main cause of this issue is the overconsumption of fast food and convenience foods. A possible solution would be a government tax on these foods with lower costs for fresh products. One reason that people are becoming overweight these days is that they are eating more junk food and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home. This is because many people tend to lead a busy life so it is easier to just buy ready meals or get a take away rather than cook at home. For instance, studies by the UK government have found that sales of these types of foods have risen considerable in the past two decades. If the issue is not addressed soon there will most likely be an epidemic of obesity related illness such as diabetes in the near future. To tackle this issue governments need to increase the tax on high sugar or unhealthy foods, especially this that contains Trans fats. This would mean that consumers would think twice about the food they consume, so in the long run, this could lead them losing weight and leading a much healthier life. To illustrate this, recently Norway implemented though regulations and higher taxes on food containing high levels of sodium and saturated fats. They also fixed a lower price for organic vegetables to attract more consumers of fresh produce in supermarkets. This had a dramatic effect on reducing the consumption of junk foods. In conclusion, being overweight is an increasing issue for children and adults globally because of the consumption of fast food and convenience foods. Authorities need to look at taxing these foods and make healthier options more available.