Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Advertisements are an active component of our lives as they are displayed almost everywhere. There are people that, because of this reason, believe that they are no more effective to influence buyers choices as we do not focus our attention on them anymore. On the other hand, others find them still quite powerful in redirecting people's consumeristic needs. Personally, i stand with this last category of thinkers as i think that advertisements are still successful in pushing people to buy every kind of products. Those who believe that we do not watch anymore advertisements, take as an example Youtube videos. Even if sometimes they are stuffed with tons of advertising pauses, as soon as people can skip them, they just do it, no matter what products has been promoted. Besides that, nowadays consumers have the perception that behind a product that is strongly advertised, there is a powerful company but not always a quality product, so they will not pay that much of attention to whatever is displayed on the advertisement, considering it a possible spam. However, I do not believe that the previous arguments stand up to a scrutiny as the influence that advertisements exerts on our choices, is self-evident to everybody. Most of the people, as soon as holidays arrive, will fall in the festival shopping trap, as they will be brainwashed by specific holidays advertisements that they need to purchase seasonal merchandise. Moreover, a recent study has proven that because of advertisements showed in specific part of the day when housewives are considered more active, a boom in the purchasing of kitchen utensils occurred. I believe that these arguments support with enough strength the fact that, due to advertisements influence, we still tend to buy things that, before watching them, we did not even know to want. In conclusion I find disillusioned believe that we have already escaped to the consumeristic cycle initiated and took alive by advertisements.