Cycling has many benefits, yet in some countries there is a decrease in the number of people using bicycles as their main form of transportation. Why is this happening? Give suggestions on how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

Cycling is no longer a popular mode of transportation. This is sad especially when we consider the fact that cycling is healthier than driving/ cycling offers many health benefits. This essay will discuss the possible reasons behind the decline in the use of bicycles and also suggest some ways to make them popular again. One of the main reasons for the declining popularity of cycling is the change in our lifecycle. With the advancement in modern technology, people have become lazy and dependent on motor vehicles. Little do they realize the value of physical exertion associated with cycling. To add to this, we do not have separate lanes for cyclists and consequently their safety is at risk. Also thanks to the addition of new features and comfort mechanism, modern bicycles are quite expensive. The price hike makes people reluctant to buy bicycles. There are various ways to encourage people to use bicycles. Firstly, the law enforcement agencies should focus on constructing separate lanes for cyclists. To reduce the number of automobiles on the roads, the government should impose a carbon tax on them. Secondly, the government should launch campaigns to create awareness about the health benefits of cycling. For instance, the government can promote the practice of cycling to work. In conclusion, I believe that cycling is no longer considered an exciting activity and its use has decreased steeply; but we can make it popular again by creating awareness about its health benefits. The government should also build separate lanes for cyclists.