Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that spending money for improving the arts is one of the most important responsibilities of governments because arts are essential part of every nation’s culture. Personally, I think that this opinion is lacking in well-founded rationales. Although arts are essential in our lives especially in terms of aesthetics, if government has to choose just one option, enhancing the environment is absolutely superior to the art. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs. First and foremost, a healthy environment can improve the first human’s concern throughout the history; health. Mankind as well as other animals, always has been in interaction with their surrounding and every change in their ambience has affected their lives directly. Many species became extinct just because of small change in the nature. Nowadays, pollution, especially in huge cities, is a life threatening problem that results in increasing lung and pulmonary diseases. If authorities do not use money to improve the environment they have to spend more for health problems. For instance, in my home town, Tehran, it is believed that air pollution is responsible for many of deaths every year. It is obvious that government should solve this problem. An unhealthy society does not care about art. Secondly, artistic programs can get money from private parties and many other ways, while nobody is responsible for environment but government. Artists can provide and sell their products to supply budget. Moreover, numerous companies are willing to sponsor artistic activities and fund in these ways. In our industrial world, nature is being progressively destroyed by human activities and, governments should spend money to compensate these adverse effects. As an illustration, last year, a small theater group in our town lost a portion of their budget because the government cut their subsidy. Nevertheless, they could get enough money by selling more tickets and getting some sponsors. Some companies paid them money to advertise their products when they have performance. I strongly believe that a real artist should be capable to live without governments help. As a conclusion, if governments do not fund money to improve our surroundings, destroyed nature impacts our life. The better the environment is, the healthier the life we have. While spending money for art is optional, improving the nature is an obligation.