Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Death penalty has been one of the most debated topic in history and people's opinions are divided whether it should be imposed or not. Although capital punishment has advantages, I am still a firm believer of pro-life. On one hand, the most significant advantage of capital punishment is security within the community. It lessens the occurrence of major crimes since criminals know they would suffer the consequences of their wrong-doing. For example, during the time of former President Marcos in the Philippines, rape cases are low because it is punishable by death. When capital punishment was abolished after his term, incidents of rape surged and statistics showed that a good percentage of the victims were minors. Moreover, the government spend a good percentage of its budget for the maintenance of prisons and providing the essential needs of such criminals. These finances can be used to for social services and other urgent societal needs. On the other hand, death penalty is not a suitable punishment for many reasons. One of the strongest argument is that we don't have the right to kill another person. The right to live is a basic right of every human being and we cannot infringe this right regardless of any circumstances. Furthermore, innocent people can face death when wrongly-accused. This may result to loss of trust in the justice system. There is a saying that it is better to free ten criminals that to put one innocent person to jail. Lastly, we believe in forgiveness and that everybody deserves a second chance at life. Criminals do repent and wish for a normal life after jail with their families. They should be given that chance. To sum up, although imposing death penalty has some notable advantages, taking one's life is not ours to decide and people should be given another chance to live a normal life, but most importantly, the risk of losing innocent lives outweighs the benefits of capital punishment.