VIOLENCE IN MEDIA PROMOTES VIOLENCE IN SOCIETY. AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is said that we become what we pay attention to, this age old saying holds true in every walk of life including violence in media. Indubitably, both petty and serious crimes telecasted on media – visual, print or online has contributed to an upsurge of violence in society. The topic of witnessing violence and displaying it in form of aggressive behavior is not new. Many psychologists including Albert Bandura testified the correlation between the two. Most of the video games including grand theft auto and far cry are based on violence and these games very subtly convey an implicit message that it is okay to be bad and that it is alright to resort to violence if need be. It is because of this reason that world has witnessed epidemic proportions of crimes being committed by juveniles in contemporary times. However, on the flip side, saying that showing violence has only copycat effects will be incorrect. No one can deny that media is a potent tool for creating awareness in the society and the crimes shown on media are eye-opener for many people. People are made aware of the recent trends in crime by media only and this in turn makes them be watchful about these. Conclusively, it can be said that showing violence have many detrimental effects specially for the ones who are facing identity crisis but it has its fair chunk of positives too. The best solution to tackle this problem is to design more constructive and ethical media for the young ones and parental supervision should be mandatory while seeing the mildly violent media. In one of the more recent surveys, it was found that by the age of 18, an average child has seen approximately 2, 00, 000 acts of violence, including serious ones like rape, murder or communal riots. This in turn conditions and inspires the young brains towards committing such heinous acts. The parents and other caretakers may tell the young brains that it is bad to be bad but children follow what they see and what not they hear.