The only way to prevent overcrowding in cities is to prevent migration from rural areas. Give your opinion and views.

Rapid Industrialisation and increasing population boomed urbanization in many parts of the world. Increasing economic opportunities and high standards of living attracts many people towards cities. This continuous migration from rural areas has led to the problem of overcrowding in many urban centres. There has been an increase in slum areas over the pheripheries of mega cities during recent years. Thus, the only way to prevent overcrowding in cities is to prevent migration from rural areas. I totally agree with the statement and reasons will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First of all since we have limited land resources and we can't expand them. With proliferating urbanization, cities are getting filled to their maximum capacity and there is hardly any space left. This situation has given rise to insanitary conditions in many parts of the world leading to an increase in number of slum areas around the city. This is an alarming sign and efforts should be made to prevent this rapid migration from rural areas. Governments and people around the globe have to work collectively to achieve desired results. The best way to prevent people from moving to urban areas is increase the number of work opportunities in villages and rural areas. Unemployment has been found as the major cause for migration to city centres by the research conducted by students of the Delhi University. Apart from increasing economic opportunities such as opening new factories in rural areas, efforts should also be made to strengthen transportation system. With well-maintained roads, people will prefer to stay in villages as they will have good road network to travel to work in cities. Healthcare and educational facilities at rural areas should also be improved so that they can match the level of urban centres. Government should to provide facilities in every part of the country so that we see a downward trend in case of urbanization. To conclude, large migration of people from small towns and villages has given rise to problem of overcrowding in cities. The only way to prevent this overcrowding is to prevent migration of people from rural areas. This can only be done if number of opportunities are increased in rural areas as well. Government should stress over providing better transportation, healthcare and educational facilities in rural areas.