Violence In Media Promotes Violence Among People

Broadcasting violent content over the media leads to promotion of violence among people. This essay totally agrees with this statement because brutal videos telecasted have a negative impact on the young minds and terror outfits use social media to promote hatred among people. Young children, on an average, spend around 5-6 hours of time watching videos over television, such as movies or cartoons. Most of the movies today have some form of physical violence like, a brutal murder, communal riots and rape. As a result, these young ones are exposed to crime and brutality at a very young age and start believing that it is alright to resort to violence, if the need arises. This can be illustrated by an increase in the number of incidences of physical abuse among school children. Recently, a sixth class student studying in a very reputed school in Mumbai murdered his junior because the later did not give him the seat in school bus. Furthermore, many terror groups utilize the social media to float videos of mass killings, people getting slaughtered in the name of religion with a motive to create unrest among the people and divide them based on religion. They mislead public by showing this content and encourage to join hands with them. For instance, one of the most dreaded terror outfits, ISIS, targets people from Muslim community and instills ill will in their minds for other religions and motivates them to get indulged in violent activities. In conclusion, media exposes young children to barbarity at a very tender age and also helps in spreading communal violence.