Violence among young people has increased dramatically over the past 50 years. This rise moves in tandem with a growth in violent media. Thus, the conclusion can be drawn that violent media is the main cause of violence among young people. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Recent 50 years showed that violence among young people is growing. Some people claims that reason of this phenomenon is violent, while others states that violent media do not have negative effect on youth. In my opinion, violence in media do not affect on violence among youth in real life. Violent acts are result of person’s education and character, also violence in media, on the contrary decreases violence in real life. Firstly, serious acts that people decide to do depends on their character, education, and upbringing. Child who grew in kind environment and who was taught to do right things will not try to hurt somebody after watching extremely violent movie. When people decide to go for act of violence, it means that they have own motives and reasons, that in their opinion justifies their crime, violence seen in media simply not enough good reason to do such things. Secondly, violence in media as movies and videogames shown to entertain consumer or to tell a story. Therefore, violence in media can be used as a relief after hard day. A lot of gamers say that videogames allow them to get rid of all negativity. Violence also used in a lot of movies loved by thousands of people. It does not mean that audience enjoys watching violence, it is just violence fits into entertaining model and people understand that violence in media is a fictional as a stories that they used in. Besides, there are a lot of research that show connection between violence in media and violence in real life, recent big research published in 2020 observed gamers for over 10 years, and in conclusion revealed that games have no negative affect on youth behavior. Finally, after all discussions, we can say that violence in media and violence in real life have no connection. To decrease violence, we should not limit media, but need to establish decent environment for children education and prevent people from acting violent.