Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Scholastic subjects for instance history or social studies are still taught in most schools; however, for most professions, vocational training or experience is required. It has plentiful merits and downsides. The first benefit is that such subjects familiarize students with important aspects such as their country, traditions, or politics. Secondly, they provide the opportunity for students to indulge in extra-curricular activities such as debates, stage dramas, etc. On the other hand, one flaw of this is that the students may stay behind by not being able to secure jobs and improving their career The first advantage of arts subjects for example history and social studies is that students are provided awareness about national and international history, culture, and politics. Basic knowledge of these subjects at the school level helps in widening the overall outlook of a student towards the world. For example, Pakistani students learn about the struggles behind the foundation of Pakistan in their history course, that is why, every year, Independence Day is celebrated with full zeal and zest among all age groups. Secondly, these courses enable students to participate in extra-curricular activities such as speech competitions and other activities such as field trips to strengthen their knowledge. For instance, in 5th grade, I participated in a tableau/drama related to Pakistan’s history which not only boosted my confidence immensely but also increased my knowledge of the topic. Secondly, as with any situation, there are some demerits associated with this as well It cannot be refuted that in today's times of globalization, vocational training can have a positive impact on a person’s employment opportunities. In today's job market, more skilled and technically sound workers are needed. Since vocational training gives a hands-on experience and is practical oriented, it helps a student to fulfill the demand of a particular job. To illustrate, a student in a stitching and embroidery class may discover her passion and skill for stitching and embroidery and may be able to take up a designing job increasing her earning power. In conclusion, courses such as history and social studies are still taught in most schools despite knowing that students need to acquire certain skills or experience to enter professional life. These subjects help students to acquaint themselves with their history and social values and also encourage them to participate in co-curricular activities. However, professional training courses are equally important to ensure a secure job and earnings for the students.