Children should learn a foreign language in their early grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers

I agree with the concept that youngsters should be taught a second language, as it will help them in a number of ways. My first reason is that learning a foreign language will enable the children to thrive in their academic environment. My second argument discusses how bilingual children are better able to connect with people of another culture. Firstly, the cognitive benefit of learning a foreign language has a direct impact on a child’s academic achievement. According to linguists, a key advantage of being bilingual is their ability to pick up on word structure as they are exposed to multiple languages which develops their phonetic awareness. A higher vocabulary range is another benefit. For example non-English speakers who are taught English at a young age are exposed to more words in both languages than children who only speak their native language. For this reason, they are likely to learn more words in the opposite language. Secondly, in an interdependent world, having the power of a second language means the ability to communicate with people of a different culture to your own. Speaking a second language allows you to connect with speakers of your second language whether within your own region or travelling. Bilingual people can do activities such as shopping, tour, and other entertainment activities with ease or major activities such as settling in a new place or starting a business without much difficulty. In conclusion, the two key reasons why learning a second language at an early age is beneficial is connected to a higher academic performance of bilingual children with regard to language abilities and easy integration into another culture.