Many people think technological devices such as smart phones, tablets and mobile phones bring more disadvantages than advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that electronic gadgets including smartphones and tablets have more drawbacks than positive outcomes. I am not in favour of this viewpoint owing to the numerous benefits of technology. First of all, a very prominent result of the aforementioned devices is the ease of communication. Secondly, online sites such as Google have brought access to information at our fingertips. The advent of technology and further advancements have enabled people to be ever closer to each other through tablets and smartphones. Exchange of information and ideas have not only been made seamless and obstacle-free but also quicker and faster with texting and social media where people can share their valuable opinions to a substantial audience. Several examples of this can be observed. During political campaigns, political candidates can reach millions of people and draw their support through simply tweeting and sharing their videos online without having to completely rely on physical canvassing to gain support. Furthermore, individuals living far away from their families for work or study can remain in constant touch with their loved ones through video calls, photo sharing, and messaging facilities which are all available on smartphones. Another point to consider is the unhindered acquisition of information. In the past, scouring libraries and combing through huge piles of documents and books were one of the ways one could investigate a topic. Moreover, one would, at times, have to travel to faraway places and communicate with others through letters and other time-consuming means to acquire the necessary information. Today, the need for the abovementioned efforts has been replaced by tablets and phones with built-in technology to visit any site online from the comfort of peoples’ homes to have access to what they need. For instance, online libraries, e-books, videos, social media communication can all be reached with one click on our phones or tablets. In summary, the merits of high-tech technological devices such as smartphones and tablets far outweigh the demerits considering their usefulness in overcoming geographical restrictions to enable unimpeded communication and the effortless attainability of information and ideas.