An increasing number of people are changing their careers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It can be observed that a large number of people are opting to switch their professions. In my opinion, the demerits of this particular action overcome the merits for a number of reasons. The first major drawback results from a shortage of talented individuals in a certain profession if people are opting out of that. Secondly, persons who have picked a different occupation may find it hard to gain footing in their new sphere of work leading to emotional and financial hardships. To begin with, the outcome of a switched vocation, whilst beneficial for an individual, may have far-reaching consequences for that field. To explain, many professions today already have a declining number of experts practicing in those areas, and considering the nature of the field, it may lead to unfavourable results. For instance, in my country, Pakistan, many doctors, and surgeons have moved on to earn a living by acting on account of a higher amount of wealth and fame in lieu of the constant strain experienced by medical professionals. This, in turn, has resulted in a very limited number of doctors in Pakistan who are available to treat a growing population of the country. Another point to consider is that beginning a new career is not always seamless and obstacle-free and may become especially strenuous given the fact that it may cause the individual, new in that field, to start from scratch. Moreover, the individuals, owing to limited exposure and experience in their field, may not experience the desired level of success that they would like to attain. Hence, they may experience financial predicaments. Furthermore, they may even face emotional trauma resulting from their fruitless decision. To illustrate, I will give the same example of doctors-turned-actors in my country. Unfortunately, many of the aforementioned people did not taste success and fame and consequently turned back to their old professions. However, due to new skilled doctors in their field and a weak reputation, they have even faced difficulty reverting to their previous positions. In summary, the negative results are higher than the positive points when it comes to swapping careers. One reason is the repercussions of their actions on their abandoned professions resulting in a fewer number of experts and a second prominent reason is the ramifications of choosing a new career encountered by individuals which include an unsuccessful venture and the resulting financial and emotional difficulties.